World Cup final 16: When, the place and who’s taking part in within the knockout levels

It is nearly time for the knockout levels of the World Cup.

Group winners and runners-up are nearly determined, with solely Teams G and H to be settled on Friday.

The matches for the subsequent spherical will happen from Saturday, December 3 to Tuesday, December 6 with one match every over the 4 days.

Athletic Hold monitor of the groups which have certified for the final 16 and the upcoming schedule.

Who certified for the final 16 and the way did they get there?

Group A

Netherlands (winner), Senegal (runner-up)

The Netherlands, whereas unbeaten, remained unbeaten of their three video games and 7 factors have been sufficient to maintain them high.

They may be part of Senegal within the knockout spherical, who needed to beat Ecuador of their remaining match to complete second in Group A with six factors.

Group B

England (winner), USA (runner-up)

England sealed their place within the final 16 with a 3-0 win over Wales on Tuesday night time.

USA additionally managed to beat Iran within the third group match to achieve the final 16. Christian Pulisic put them forward earlier than half-time and so they managed to safe the three factors.

Group C

Argentina (winner), Poland (runner-up)

All of it bought slightly tense within the closing levels of Group C; At one level, Mexico have been going out as a result of that they had accrued extra yellow playing cards than Poland.

Regardless of shedding the primary recreation to Saudi Arabia, Poland went on to win the final 16 with Argentina to high the group.

Lionel Messi’s penalty was saved by Wojciech Szczesny however targets from Alexis McAllister and Julian Alvarez have been sufficient to see the two-time winners high of Group D.

Group D

France (winner), Australia (runner-up)

Australia defied odds to seal their place within the last-16 (Picture: Robert Cianflone/Getty Photos)

Australia dominated out probabilities of qualifying from Group D. They gained each their matches – towards Tunisia and Denmark – to achieve the last-16 for under the second time on the earth after shedding 4-1 to France of their opening recreation. Cup historical past.

Didier Deschamps’ aspect who superior to the last-16 as Group D winners. Again-to-back wins towards Australia after which Denmark left them with a recreation to spare.

After making a number of modifications, they misplaced 1–0 to Tunisia within the remaining group recreation – leading to a grievance to FIFA after Antoine Griezmann’s purpose was disallowed.

Group E

Japan (winner), Spain (runner-up)

A tumultuous night time ensued in Group E as Japan rallied from a purpose all the way down to beat Spain 2-1, with Ao Tanaka’s purpose allowed to face by VAR after the ball was dominated to not have crossed the road all through the build-up.

Germany beat Costa Rica 4-2 however went out on purpose distinction.

Group F

Morocco (winner), Croatia (runner-up)

Morocco beat each Belgium and Croatia to high Group F.

Roberto Martinez’s aspect have included Croatia within the final 16 regardless of a handful of huge probabilities for Romelu Lukaku. A lot to the dismay of the Belgians, Martinez confirmed his resignation.

Group G

We guess: Brazil and Switzerland

After a powerful begin to the match, Brazil are already via to the subsequent spherical with only one spot up for grabs in a pair of ultimate matches.

It seems like it is going to be between Switzerland and Serbia for the runners-up spot, and with Switzerland solely needing a degree, I believe they would be the groups in Group G becoming a member of the five-time winners of the final 16. .

Group H

Portugal (winner), South Korea (runner-up)

Portugal had already completed sufficient to safe a spot within the knockout levels and retained high spot regardless of a 2-1 stoppage-time defeat towards South Korea.

The outcome lifted South Korea from fourth in Group H to second, forward of Uruguay, who beat Ghana 2-0 of their different group recreation however failed to attain sufficient targets.

When and the place are the final 16 matches of the World Cup performed?

The last-16 kicks off on the weekend with the primary two knockout rounds on Saturday.

Listed below are all of the dates and occasions for all eight matches.

Saturday, December 3

Netherlands vs United States – 3pm GMT (10am ET, 7am PT) at Khalifa Worldwide Stadium, Al-Rayyan

Argentina vs Australia – 7pm GMT (2pm ET, 11am PT) at Ahmed Bin Ali Stadium, Al-Rayyan

Sunday, December 4

France vs Poland – 3pm GMT (10am ET, 7am PT) at Al Thumama Stadium, Doha

England v Senegal – 7pm GMT (2pm ET, 11am PT) at Al Bayat Stadium, Al-Khor

Monday, December 5

Japan vs Croatia – 3pm GMT (10am ET, 7am PT) at Al Janob Stadium, Al-Wakrah

Group G winners vs South Korea – 7pm GMT (2pm ET, 11am PT) at Stadium 974, Doha

Tuesday, December 6

Morocco vs Spain – 3pm GMT (10am ET, 7am PT) at Training Metropolis Stadium, Al Rayyan

Portugal vs Group G runners-up – 7pm (2pm ET, 11am PT) at Lussell Stadium, Lussell

Construct your strategy to the finals with Athletic’s World Cup bracket.

(Prime photograph: Matthias Hangst/Getty Photos)

About the author


Leave a Comment