Pinkbike Primer: DH World Cup returns to Mont-Saint-Anne after 3 years

We’re into the 2022 finals, and a number of other sequence titles might be determined this weekend. The seventh spherical marks the return of the legendary Mont-Sainte-Anne after a three-year hiatus. Try all the data it’s essential to know earlier than the racing begins this weekend.


We don’t know what to anticipate for the return of Mont-Sainte-Anne this yr. It may very well be the identical observe as normal or there may very well be some secret surprises.

Earlier winners

Elite males

1996: Thomas Mizer
1997: Corrado Herrin
1998 // World Champs: Fabian Berel
1999: Steve Peet
2000: Fabian Berel
2001: Chris Kovarik
2002: Steve Peet
2003: Steve Peet
2004: Steve Peet
2005: Fabian Berel
2006: Chris Kovarik
2007: Sam Hill
2008: Greg Lover
2009: Sam Hill
2010 // World Champs: Sam Hill
2011: Aaron Gwin
2012: Aaron Gwin
2013: Stevie Smith
2014: Sam Hill
2015: Josh Bryceland
2016: Danny Hart
2017: Aaron Gwin
2018: Loic Bruni
2019 // World Champs: Loic Bruni

elite ladies

1996: Leigh Donovan
1997: Missy Jupiter
1998 // World Champs: Anne-Caroline Chausson
1999: Anne-Caroline Chausson
2000: Missy Jupiter
2001: Sabrina Junior
2002: Anne-Caroline Chausson
2003: Fionn Griffiths
2004: Sabrina Junior
2005: Tracy Moseley
2006: Sabrina Junior
2007: Sabrina Junior
2008: Rachel Atherton
2009: Sabrina Junior
2010 // World Champs: Tracy Moseley
2011: Tracy Moseley
2012: Rachel Atherton
2013: Emmeline Ragot
2014: Manon Carpenter
2015: Rachel Atherton
2016: Rachel Atherton
2017: Tahni Seagrave
2018: Rachel Atherton
2019 // World Champs: Miriam Nicole

What occurred in 2019?

Elite males

1st. Loic Bruni: 4:05.544
2nd Troy Brosnan: +0.581
third Amaury Pierron: +2.549
4 th Danny Hart: +2.805
fifth Greg Lover: +3.187

elite ladies

1st. Myriam Nicole: 4:53.226
2nd Tahni Seagrave: +1.204
third Marine Kabiro: +1.694
4 th Tracy Hanna: +4.121
fifth Emily Siegenthaler: +5.391

junior males

1st. Kye A’Hern: 4:17.776
2nd Antoine Vidal: +1.144
third Luhoto-Ariki Pen: +1.294
4 th Lucas Cruz: +1.304
fifth Thibaut Duprell: +1.889

junior ladies

1st. Wally Corridor: 5:01.033
2nd Mill Johnsett: +12.928
third Anna Newkirk: +21.230
4 th Nastasia Gimenez: +38.316
fifth Jordan Scott: +46.863

What occurred within the final spherical?

For the juniors, Gracie Hemstreet mastered the robust circumstances to return out on high by simply three seconds. Pinkbike Racing’s Amy Kenyon put in an unimaginable run to cross the road in second place with reigning World Champion Izabela Yankova in third. For the junior males it was Jackson Goldstone on the highest step of the rostrum as soon as once more as he discovered greater than 5 seconds on Tegan Cruz. Sebastian Holguin Villa rounded out the quickest high three, ending in 9 seconds. Pinkbike Racing’s Jackson Connelly crossed the road at 22.

Camille Balanche backed up her high qualifying run with a win within the snowshoe as she managed to go all the week with out a crash. Camille’s wild run over Miriam Nicol, who made an enormous mistake within the third break up, put her 4 seconds again. Nina Hoffman rounded out the highest three, six seconds again.

What a race for the elite males, the tracks had been drying out however nonetheless not straightforward for the ultimate riders. Regardless of not even pondering he can be racing this week, Amare Pierron proved as soon as once more why he’s the rider to beat this yr by successful his first World Cup since Bernard Kerr. Mountain biking’s quickest vlogger achieved his greatest end in 15 years of racing, ending second and simply 0.4 seconds behind. Andreas Kolb is one other rider who’s at it this yr and takes a podium end in third.

elite ladies

1st. Camille Ballenche: 4:28.585
2nd Myriam Nicole: 4:32.730
third Nina Hoffman: 4:34.692
4 th Wally Corridor: 4:44.489
fifth Monica Hrastnik: 4:45.362

Elite males

1st. Amaury Pierron: 3:34.442
2nd Bernard Kerr: 3:34.856
third Andreas Kolb: 3:36.250
4 th Ronan Dunne: 3:37.013
fifth Greg Lover: 3:37.962

junior ladies

1st. Gracie Hemstreet: 5:24.114
2nd Aimee Kenyon: 5:27.324
third Izabella Yankova: 5:30.714
4 th Jenna Hastings: 5:38.788
fifth Valentina Roa Sanchez: 5:39.740

junior males

1st. Jackson Goldstone: 3:50.127
2nd Tegan Cruz: 3:55.452
third Sebastian Holguin Villa: 3:59.173
4 th Lachlan Stevens-McNab: 4:02.580
fifth Ryan Pinkerton: 4:04.032

Total standings after sixth spherical

elite ladies

Elite males

junior ladies

junior males

climate forecast

Whereas the racing week began with a little bit of rain it appears to be like like we’re in for a fantastic week of sunny racing at Mont-Sainte-Anne.

Thursday, August 4 – Coaching
Showers within the morning; In any other case, cloudy and humid // 25° // 100% likelihood of precipitation // 7 km/h wind

Friday, August 5 – Eligibility
Principally cloudy and comfy // 23° // 0% likelihood of precipitation // 7 km/h wind

Saturday, August 6 – The ultimate
Distance between cloud and solar // 25° // 29% likelihood of precipitation // 4 km/h wind

Climate forecast for Monday, August 1 from Accuweather.


Thursday, August 4
• 08:45-11:15 // Official Downhill Coaching – Group B
• 11:15-12:30 // Official Downhill Coaching – Group A & B (Blended Coaching)
• 12:45-15:15 // Official Downhill Coaching – Group A
• 15:30-17:00 // Downhill timed coaching session
• 17:00-17:45 // On foot downhill course inspection – riders and workforce

Friday, August 5
• 08:45-10:15 // Official Downhill Coaching – Group B
• 10:15-11:45 // Official Downhill Coaching – Group A
• 12:15 // Seeding Run – Junior Ladies
• 12:30 // Qualification Spherical – Junior Males
• 13:30 // Qualification Spherical – Elite Ladies
• 14:00 // Qualification Spherical – Elite Males
• Adopted by // half-hour on foot downhill course inspection – riders and groups

Saturday, August 6
• 08:15-09:15 // Official Downhill Coaching – Junior Ladies, Junior Males, Elite Ladies
• 09:45 // Ultimate – Junior Males
• 10:30 // Ultimate – Junior Ladies
• 10:50-11:05 // Official Downhill Coaching – Ladies Qualify for Elite Finals
• 11:05-12:05 // Official Downhill Coaching – Males Qualify for Elite Finals
• 12:30 // Ultimate – Elite Ladies
• 13:30 // Ultimate – Elite Males
• Rewards to comply with

Observe: All instances are native and topic to vary by occasion organizers.

Tips on how to see

Pinkbike brings you one of the best each day protection from Mont-Sainte-Anne this week. Tune into Pinkbike to get picture epics, movies and outcomes from timed coaching, observe, qualifying and finals, in addition to tech bits and information.

You may as well watch the Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup on redbull.television. The dwell DH broadcast will start on Saturday, August sixth at 12:25 PM EDT.

Schedule: Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup Leogang dwell on Pink Bull TV:

Mont-Sainte-Anne DHI Ladies: July 30 12:25 EDT Stay on Pink Bull TV
Mont-Saint-Anne DHI Important: July 30 13:45 EDT Stay on Pink Bull TV

(All instances EDT, replays accessible instantly after races. Instances are topic to vary on the discretion of organizers and Pink Bull.)

2022 fantasy league

Do not forget to finish your DH fantasy workforce for spherical seven this weekend, as a result of fantasy leagues are a number of enjoyable in case you soak up each race.

Fantasy Downhill League is offered by Specialised

About the author


Leave a Comment